Likes Likes:  9
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stretching preworkout and daily

Post Thanks / Like

Stretching preworkout and daily

I am new to Olympic Weightlifting. I transitioned from CrossFit less than a month ago. I am looking for some help on specific stretch/mobility routines before working out and then stretches in the evening I can do at my leisure daily. I have mobility issues with my shoulders which I’ve been working on improving over the last half year and can now do overhead movements (still light weights) whereas I couldn’t at all six months ago. Any links, videos or list of routines would be greatly appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like
    There are plenty of stretches and programs should probably be tailored to the individual's specific needs. Google and youtube will help you out. A knowledgeable PT could also evaluate you personally and help as well.

Regarding workouts, I would stretch after the workout, not before. Use an empty bar to warm-up and warm-up doing the movements you will do that day.

3. Likes Bulldog73, dwp1975 liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    As an old man dancer I spend a lot of time stretching. I do it because it makes me feel good and relaxed as well as warm and more flexible. Before a dance class (think training session) I have a 45 minute stretching routine, which is also my warm-up. I've been doing this routine for as long as I can remember, and obviously feel good about it.

Having said that I do no stretches before I warm up for a weightlifting session. At the very end of training I religiously spend 10 minutes stretching. I also have a 5 minute stretching routine I do off and on at home. Ninety five percent of the stretches I do are general stretches you can find in any yoga book.

I do do some some very specific weightlifting stretches. Those are:

Flexing and extending the wrist
    Holding the bar in the rack position, lifting the elbows as high as possible