Likes Likes:  2
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Programming Advice for Strong Pull with Weak Commitment

Post Thanks / Like

Programming Advice for Strong Pull with Weak Commitment

I have been weightlifting self-taught on and off for a couple of years. I'm 32 years old and 6ft4. My strength is incredibly disproportionate to my classic lifts. Hence I have no business doing 99% of online templates out there.

Squat 180kg
    Clean 135kg
    Snatch 80kg
    C&J 100kg

Here's a snatch video:

For years I have been dealing (in the snatch) with the fact I either don't commit to getting under, or I end up catching it high and doing a power snatch whenever weights get heavy. My lighter weights I always catch and ride down. However, at the same time whenever I start including more hang snatches, I don't really have too much problems with them. (See end of video to see what I mean.)

I tried a variety of different online coaches in the past. None of them ever individualized exercise selection for my specific weaknesses. They all said it will go away over time. But it never does.

I can snatch pull 100kg to my face but I can't even imagine getting under it. I have been dealing with it for a long time now. I feel like I have zero reason to worry about squat and pull strength, probably once a week is more than enough.

How would you program for someone like me? Should I just start doing the majority of my volume in doubles and triples from blocks and from hang?

Because of this weakness I think I should forget about percentages all together, because I think it's more a motor pattern issue rather than something that can be solved with periodization.

Any advice appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like