Likes Likes:  1
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Compressing the basic Supercompensation program into a 4 week cycle?

Post Thanks / Like

Compressing the basic Supercompensation program into a 4 week cycle?

I'm a complete noob when it comes to programming for Weightlifting, and despite reading a bit about it am completely over my head when it comes to reps per week/month, volume, etc. Powerlifting programming was something I found easier to wrap my head around, plus it was very easy to find a good template that was suitable for my time constraints since there's a lower frequency on the big 3. I've been trying to teach myself how to program lately since most of the templates I've found haven't really been something I can fit around my schedule easily. Most of the time my free days are M, Tu, W, F for instance. Knowing how to program for myself would make it much easier for me to continue on enjoying the hobby of Weightlifting.

I came across a video from Zack Telander about the basic Supercompensation program
    and while it looks promising one of my biggest weaknesses has been confidence with heavy singles, and so I've needed heavy singles in my programming at some point to get through that hurdle. I've done a couple of programs before and still didn't improve that confidence with 90% or more, which is why singles have been a Godsend in a way. Because of that, I looked into compressing the Supercompensation program into a 4 week cycle, where 3's would be done as a light variation at a slightly lower percentage, and Doubles/Singles done for the full competition lifts, with all rep ranges done throughout the week.

So far here's what I've got sort of figured out..

Monday:

Snatch variation (Snatch Pull+Hang Snatch)
    Clean+Jerk (Comp)

Tuesday:

Back Squat
    Other general strength stuff

Wednesday:

Snatch (Comp)
    Clean+Jerk variation (Clean pull+Clean+Jerk)

Thursday:
    Rest

Friday:
    Snatch (singles)
    C&J (Singles)
    Front Squat